My dark descent into young adult literature – “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins

October 5, 2011 at 12:20 am 4 comments

The Hunger Games

Image via Wikipedia

The Hunger Gamesby Suzanne Collins, Published in 2008

I am pretty sure everyone has already read this book and that I am one of the last hold-outs. But if by chance you have not read this book you really should, it is amazingly fun.

This is science fiction and is set sometime in the future. The U.S.  has become a 12 district nation, Panem, controlled by the Capitol.  Because of an uprising years before, the Capitol holds the hunger games every year.  Each year, each of the district must draw the name of a boy and a girl to compete in the games.  Your name is entered starting at age 12.  You can have your name entered multiple times in exchange for grain to feed your family throughout the year, so the impoverished have a higher likelihood of being sent to the games. The hunger game is like a game of capture the flag gone terribly wrong.  The game is to survive in the arena, which can be miles and miles of land, and kill all of the other competitors.  Everything is televised so the nation can watch their children slaughter each other. Whoever is left alive wins. All of this is the Capitol’s reminder to the people that they control everything and everyone, even their childrens’ lives.

When 16 year old Katniss’ little sister’s name is drawn for the games Katniss takes her place.  She is paired with Peeta, the baker’s son, who had given her bread years before when she was starving.  Both are sent to represent their district but both are also sent to kill each other.  That is all I will say about the story itself because really it is not a complicated story and to say more would give too much away.

I was reluctant to read this book. I like sci-fi movies but I have not read a lot of science fiction. In fact, I tried to struggle through “Foundations” by Asimov recently and finally just gave up.  While this is a simple read, it really was fun. Maybe I should try another Asimov book but only after I finish the other two books in “The Hunger Games” series.

Entry filed under: October 2011 reads. Tags: , , .

Fannie Flagg’s “I Still Dream About You,” not a fried green tomato in sight An Irish story is rarely a happy story – “Country Girls” by Edna O’Brien

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. vsudia  |  October 6, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Must admit I’d never heard of this one, but will be adding to my books to read list.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 2. Emily C  |  October 6, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    Just keep in mind it is no literary classic by any stretch. But it is really fun. I hope you like it.

    Reply
  • 3. “The Hunger Games ... | Read | Scoop.it  |  October 6, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    […] “The Hunger Games … My dark descent into young adult literature – “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins. October 5, 2011. The Hunger Games. Image via Wikipedia. “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins, Published in 2008. I am pretty sure everyone has … […]

    Reply
  • […] My dark descent into young adult literature – “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collin… (readingthroughthebs.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Please let me know what you think! I like hearing from you.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

There is some great literature out there, but there is a lot of bad literature as well. We shouldn't all have to read it. These are my recommendations and thoughts about the books I read.

Archives

Or enter you email address here to get email updates.

Join 669 other followers

What I’m reading now –


