I always knew Wickham was bad news – “Death Comes to Pemberley” by P.D. James

December 28, 2011 at 9:24 pm 6 comments

Detail of a C. E. Brock illustration for the 1...

Image via Wikipedia

“Death Comes to Pemberley” by P.D. James, Published 2011

Let me start by saying I do not read books that use Jane Austen’s characters or these novels with clever viewpoints from classical literature’s minor characters (I am talking about you, Abigail Reynolds).  But then I heard P.D. James on NPR talking about her new novel “Death Comes to Pemberley” and after rolling my eyes several times I started thinking “I kind of want to read that.”  So breaking my snobby rule, I read this novel and it was really fun – so this silly rule of mine was definitely made to be broken.

The book brings the reader back to Pemberley six years after Darcy and Elizabeth are married. They are happy, have two boys, and at the beginning of the novel are furiously preparing for their yearly ball.  But the evening before the ball Elizabeth’s sister, Lydia, shows up hysterical in a carriage outside of Pemberley, crying about her husband Wickham and gun shots.

Darcy and his friends head out in search of Wickham and his friend, Captain Denny, who had both darted out of the carriage in the woods.  The search party comes upon Wickham in the woods crying over his dead friend Captain Denny and blubbering something that sounds like an admission of guilt.  And of course, the mystery is on.

You will not be amazed by this book and there is no brilliant theme or hidden lesson. But P.D. James’ writing is fun and well suited for its topic and even I have to admit it was fun to revisit some of my favorite characters, even good ole’ nasty Wickham.

Entry filed under: December 2011 reads. Tags: , , .

Gosh, rich families have a lot of baggage – “The Legacy” by Katherine Webb The Women of Masada – “The Dovekeepers” by Alice Hoffman

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bookblog76  |  December 28, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    Great review!
    I love your blog too by the way.

    Reply
    • 2. Emily C  |  December 29, 2011 at 11:20 am

      Thank you – your review of this book was great as well. Have a good New Year.

      Reply
  • 3. calehpatterson  |  December 31, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    I have the same rule about novels that use Jane Austen characters, but thanks to you I might just break it. 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Emily C  |  January 2, 2012 at 7:57 pm

      If you do break the rule you will have to let me know if you liked the book.

      Reply
  • 5. 60. Affairs of the Book « I am not who I think I am  |  March 30, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    […] I always knew Wickham was bad news – “Death Comes to Pemberley” by P.D. James (readingthroughthebs.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply
  • 6. Kathy  |  April 29, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    I’m glad you like this book. It’s at the top of my TBR stack. I read an Austen spin-off years ago and since have lived by the same rule you have. But P. D. James loves Austen too much to betray her with a bad book.

    I should have known it would be Lydia and Wickham causing the kerfuffle.

    Reply

Please let me know what you think! I like hearing from you.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

There is some great literature out there, but there is a lot of bad literature as well. We shouldn't all have to read it. These are my recommendations and thoughts about the books I read.

Archives

Or enter you email address here to get email updates.

Join 683 other followers

What I’m reading now –


