Ms. Christie and I get on smashingly – “And Then There Were None” by Agatha Christie

January 26, 2012 at 6:47 pm 7 comments

“And Then There were None” by Agatha Christie, Published in 1939

I don’t remember when I first realized I had never read anything by the great Ms. Christie but I am glad I have now rectified that reading mishap. This book was a lot of fun in a very, very British way.

Eight strangers receive an invitation from Mr. and Mrs. Owen to come and stay on their island, Indian Island.  When all of the

Cover of "And Then There Were None"

Cover of And Then There Were None

party arrive they are greeted by the butler and the cook, Mr. and Mrs. Rogers, who tell the party that Mr. and Mrs. Owen have been delayed but the Rogers make everyone feel at home.  After a nice dinner, the party retires to the sitting room and begin small talk only to be cut off by a recorded voice coming from the phonograph.  Each of the party, including the Rogers, are accused of causing the death of someone in their past.  And just like that, one of the party slumps over dead from a poisoned cocktail.  As each of the party is picked off one by one the remaining guests realize that the killer is following the childhood rhyme “10 Little Indians.”  And each person must face the accusations of their past transgressions. Of course,  they are all stuck on an island without any way to escape the killer who could be any of them.

And really that is all I can say without giving anything away.  I can say if you choose to read this book I really encourage you to drink a cup of tea with it, it just seems fitting.  I think Ms. Christie would agree.

Entry filed under: January 2012 reads. Tags: , , , .

Let them eat cake, no really they need something to do – “Les Liaisons Dangereuses” by Choderlos de Laclos Sometimes art and love is all we have left – “The Lost Wife” by Alyson Richman

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary  |  January 26, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    What the? It sounds like this Agatha Christie chick stole the plot to the movie “Clue”! Amazing.

    Btw, just finished reading Freedom by Jonathan Franzen. I liked it. You might like it too. But it’s long and it’s on my Nook and not lendable. Frick.

    Reply
    • 2. Emily C  |  January 26, 2012 at 7:20 pm

      Nothing good is lendable on the Nook. It is kind of crap.

      Reply
  • 3. psharma3  |  January 27, 2012 at 1:15 am

    I think Clue came after Agatha Christie? Anyway, I’m not about these kinds of books because I get creeped out, but I loved this one.

    Reply
    • 4. Emily C  |  January 28, 2012 at 9:22 am

      I agree I think it was really enjoyable!

      Reply
  • 5. Nella  |  January 28, 2012 at 5:51 am

    My grandmother was an Agatha Christie fan and had all her books. When I went to her for holidays, I read them avidly. Thanks for your review; I think I’ll start revisiting them.

    Reply
    • 6. Emily C  |  January 28, 2012 at 9:23 am

      That is a fun memory. You will have to let me know which Christie to read next.

      Reply
  • […] Ms. Christie and I get on smashingly – “And Then There Were None” by Agatha Christ… (readingthroughthebs.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Please let me know what you think! I like hearing from you.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

There is some great literature out there, but there is a lot of bad literature as well. We shouldn't all have to read it. These are my recommendations and thoughts about the books I read.

Archives

Or enter you email address here to get email updates.

Join 684 other followers

What I’m reading now –


