Southern Charm can’t save everything – “The Peach Keeper” and “Before the Poison”

April 14, 2012 at 1:06 pm 9 comments

I have been off my blogging game lately and I am having trouble settling down with any one book. But here is what I have read lately and if anyone has any reading suggestions please!! I need them.

“The Peach Keeper” by Sarah Addison Allen, Published in 2011

I don’t think I am going to spend a lot of time on this book review.  This book was cute with happy endings for everyone.  The writing was not stunning and the Southern charm of it does not redeem that fact.  I will say the author is very proud of the line “happiness is a risk. If you’re not a little scared, you are not doing it right.”  Memorize that line people, or just read “The Peach Keeper” because it’s in there a few times.  And hey, if you want to know more check out this video – yep, there is a video about the book.

“Before the Poison” by Peter Robinson, Published in 2011 

What I greatly preferred reading, though completely different, was “Before the Poison.”  Robinson’s character Chris returns to England after living in L.A. as a movie score writer for over 30 years. He recently lost his wife to cancer and has decided to spend some time off in an old English manor. Of course this is the same English manor where  50 years earlier Grace Fox murdered her husband and became one of the few woman in England to be sentenced to death.  Chris becomes obsessed with finding out whether Grace did kill her husband and his search also serves as a way for him to come to terms with his wife’s death.

This is not really a ghost story but it has some nice twists and turns.  I loved a lot of the details in this book, the description of the old English house is great and the setting makes this book fun.  I will warn you that the ending fell a little flat for me but it is definitely not as cliché as I had anticipated.

So if we are keeping score here – Brits: 1, Southerners: 0.  But if you know me at all, this should not be a surprise. I am off to make some tea.

Entry filed under: April 2012 reads. Tags: , , , .

But I don’t want to go among mad people – “Alice I Have Been” by Melanie Benjamin If you like ruins – “The Constant Princess” by Phillippa Gregory

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cassie  |  April 14, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    For some reason, the book snob in me wants to hate The Peach Keeper after reading your review.

    PS. the background to your blog is ADORABLE.

    Reply
    • 2. Emily C  |  April 15, 2012 at 10:27 am

      I am a terrible book snob but I am trying to expand my reading. Sometimes that is a fail.
      Thank you for your comment and for reading my background. Happy reading!!

      Reply
      • 3. Cassie  |  April 15, 2012 at 11:31 am

        Haha, I feel like anyone who reads all the time eventually finds things they don’t like rather than things they like. So, when I see certain things I turn away immediately. 🙂

  • 4. hopesquires  |  April 15, 2012 at 6:33 am

    Sorry The Peach Keeper fell flat for you. I feel responsible. Have you read Alan Bradley’s Flavia de Luce series? Flavia is a spunky, 11-year-old sleuth. I’ve only read the first one: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, set in her family’s crumbling English country estate. Wonder how the series holds up.

    Reply
    • 5. Emily C  |  April 15, 2012 at 10:24 am

      No!!! You absolutely not responsible. Please do not feel responsible. I always feel bad when people don’t like a book that I loved. We should also take into account that I am pregnant so my mood swings are many:). And I love the Flavia de Luce series.

      Reply
      • 6. hopesquires  |  April 15, 2012 at 11:37 am

        🙂 Glad to hear a good word for the Flavia de Luce series. My local bookstore has a readers’ club sale coming up, and I’m planning to stock up on the rest of the series. Good luck with those pregnancy mood swings.

  • 7. dianeledet  |  April 16, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    Book suggestions: Leaving Van Gogh by Carol Wallace and The Paris Enigma by Pablo De Santis. Hope you enjoy them too!

    Reply
    • 8. Emily C  |  April 29, 2012 at 11:21 am

      Thank you for these suggestions. I will look into these and hopefully get back into the swing of things.

      Reply
  • 9. Claire 'Word by Word'  |  April 29, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    This year I have really enjoyed Eowyn Ivey’s ‘The Snow Child’ and Juliet Greenwood’s ‘Eden’s Garden’.

    Reply

Please let me know what you think! I like hearing from you.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

There is some great literature out there, but there is a lot of bad literature as well. We shouldn't all have to read it. These are my recommendations and thoughts about the books I read.

Archives

Or enter you email address here to get email updates.

Join 671 other followers

What I’m reading now –


