If only work didn’t muck up my reading time – three books, one vacation

July 1, 2012 at 6:02 pm 6 comments

For my vacation, instead of packing a pile of books, I just took my Nook. Though it was convenient, I have to admit it made me a little sad- I missed my stack of travel companions.  It made my husband happy because he bought the Nook for me and for a few months asked “are you going to use your Nook?”  It also made my three-year old happy because she has discovered that children’s books can be recorded and she pretends she is reading to herself.

Without that silly going to work thing getting in the way, I made it through three books – one I enjoyed and found heart-warming, one I enjoyed but found a bit silly and one was just a really good suspense novel.

1. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time” by Mark Haddon, Published in 2003 – The narrator is Christopher, a fifteen year old autistic boy, who decides to write a book starting with him finding his neighbor’s dog dead in her garden.  What follows is a beautiful but sad, and at times really funny, story about an adolescent boy trying to understand the adult world with the added stress of trying to navigate this world with autism.  The result is absolutely brilliant.

2. The Last Werewolf” by Glen Duncan, Published in 2011 – So this is a guy’s book.  Jake is the last werewolf on Earth and he is being hunted by an organization that controls these paranormal individuals.  Jake has been alive for 200 years and wants to end what has become a tedious life.  But of course, his life then takes a turn and he finds that he wants to fight for not only his survival but the survival of the werewolf.  Why is this a guy’s book?  Well you see Jake, because he is a werewolf, loves him some sex – and enter many, many descriptions of oral, vaginal and anal sex. It is a bit gratuitous in such a way that I think Mr. Duncan is trying to capture and hold the interest of a young male audience.

On Amazon the book is described as “one of the most original, audacious, and terrifying novels in years.” It is truly not any of those things, but it is silly and fun – the quintessential vacation read.

3. “No One Knows You are Here” by Rachel Howzell, Published in 2011-  Syeeda lives in L.A. and after surviving a layoff as a reporter for the Times and breast cancer surgery, she is working on a freelance book about a local serial killer, the Phantom Slayer.  Since the 1990s, the Phantom Slayer has been slowing and deliberating killing prostitutes in the L.A.  area.  Syeeda began reporting about the killings when she was a reporter and has continued her interest even though her health and safety seems to indicate that she needs to leave the Slayer story behind.  Of course the Slayer is equally interested in Syeeda who has brought him the notoriety his moral cleansing of the masses needs. But of course interest from a serial killer is never a good thing.

This book was a really good suspense novel. Syeeda is African-American and this book does a great job of weaving in the story of African-American community in L.A.  I also liked the honest struggle with her cancer and that while trying to stop the Slayer, Syeeda is trying to work through both the physical pain of the mastectomy and the psychological pain of her diagnosis. She was a refreshing narrator and so where the book in parts was a little predictable Syeeda’s prospective kept this book interesting.

Of course all vacations must end so I am back to one book at a time…until next year that is.

Entry filed under: June 2012 reads. Tags: , , .

Sometimes pretentious snobbery deserves to be punished – “A Room with a View” by E.M. Forster This is going to sting a bit – “Possesion” by A.S. Byatt

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. RoniLynn  |  July 1, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    Thanks for these reviews. I just discovered your blog so I definitely plan to go through your blog and check out previous reviews.

    And I’m still 50/50 on an eReader. I’m SO old-school though! IF I get one, I think i’m going with the Kindle because I would need that gadget to do something other than allow me to read books. The day they stop printing books is the day my soul would crumble.

    Here’s a post I wrote a while about about Books and My Attention span.

    http://sunshinecoffeeme.wordpress.com/2011/09/17/books-and-my-attention-span/

    Reply
    • 2. Emily C  |  July 1, 2012 at 8:53 pm

      Thank you so much for stopping by. Yes, I also really struggle with the e-reader and love my trips to book stores – so I am hoping they will never stop printing books. I will definitely check out your post. Happy reading.

      Reply
  • 3. englishteacherconfessions  |  July 2, 2012 at 12:53 am

    I enjoyed this post–fun to hear what others are reading. I also notice that next on your list is We Need To Talk About Kevin. I’m about 100 pgs into this novel–and absolutely loving it! I’ll review it on my blog in a week or so–look forward to hearing your thoughts on it.

    Reply
    • 4. Emily C  |  July 4, 2012 at 1:00 pm

      I am interested to hear what you think of the book as well. It is tough to read but I am finding it very interesting.

      Reply
  • 5. Nella  |  July 2, 2012 at 4:58 am

    Hi Emily – I have had a Kindle for at least six months and have yet to read a novel on it (I have read short stories). I belong to two book clubs and so have a plethora of books to read and I love having a book in my hand. I feel guilty about spending all that money on the Kindle, though.

    Glad you enjoyed your holiday reading.

    Reply
    • 6. Emily C  |  July 4, 2012 at 1:02 pm

      I agree and I think for me it will always be a mix of the Nook and books. Otherwise I would be sad. The reason I finally agreed to the Nook is because I am having a baby in early August and for those late nights I think it might be easier to read with the e-reader. We will find out. Hope you are well.

      Reply

Please let me know what you think! I like hearing from you.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

There is some great literature out there, but there is a lot of bad literature as well. We shouldn't all have to read it. These are my recommendations and thoughts about the books I read.

Archives

Or enter you email address here to get email updates.

Join 683 other followers

What I’m reading now –


