In like a lion

April 8, 2013 at 9:25 am Leave a comment

Truly March was a tough month.  For my family there was bad health news, poor weather, and just terrible news all around.  Everything just seemed to fall apart.  Now April is here and the sun is shining so I can only hope that means that everything is on the mend.  I neglected my book reviews in March. So in one overview I am recapping what I read in March:

  1. Anne of Green Gables – Reading this book is so comforting.  It reminds me of being a kid, snuggled down in warm blankets, with my siblings fighting somewhere downstairs, the smell of my mom baking, and just escaping.  Anne is just as precocious and lovable as I remember and I still want to live on Prince Edward Island. It is nice to be reminded that in a lot of ways we are still our twelve-year-old selves.
  2. Blue Asylum by Kathy HepinstallIn the middle of the Civil War, Iris runs away from her cruel husband with some of his slaves.  When she is caught she is tried and convicted of madness.  She finds herself in a mental institute trying to prove to everyone and maybe even herself that she is sane but was living in a crazy world.  This book was pretty good.  But I feel like Hepinstall could have done more with the subject.
  3.  The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – This is the Grim Reaper’s tale of a young German girl named Liesel, who is a book thief.  He comes in and out of her life during WWII, ultimately carrying her story with him.  I cannot express how profound this book was for me.  Zusak is able to use the Grim Reaper’s more objective view of humans, war and love to show fairly stark truths about our world:

“They’re strange, those wars.  Full of blood and violence-

but also full of stories that are equally difficult to fathom.”

4.   Belong to Me by Maria de los Santos – I don’t remember how I came to this book and honestly, I am not sure what I think of it.   It was a bit too “Desperate Housewives” for me but was a light, mindless read and the writing was pretty good.

For the Spring, I am looking forward to being outside with my husband and children, lots of sunshine and some great reading time outside.  No matter what else is going on in my life these are the things that make me truly happy.dsc_8791.jpg

Entry filed under: March 2013 reads. Tags: , , , , , .

Get busy living or get busy dying* – “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes Let’s keep the world a civilized place, more gin please- “Farewell, Dorothy Parker” by Ellen Meister

Please let me know what you think! I like hearing from you.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

There is some great literature out there, but there is a lot of bad literature as well. We shouldn't all have to read it. These are my recommendations and thoughts about the books I read.

Archives

Or enter you email address here to get email updates.

Join 669 other followers

What I’m reading now –


