The Spring Book Rehash

May 25, 2014 at 10:05 am 2 comments

DSC_8826-3207597020-OI have been a bit behind on reviews overall, so I thought I would catch up with a list of the books that I have been reading this Spring.

1. “East of Eden” by John Steinbeck:  This book is large but it is amazing.  It is Steinbeck’s retelling, in part, of the Adam and Eve and Cain and Abel story.  I really should add that saying just that oversimplifies it. The characters take the long road to learning that how we live vs. our nature is a matter of choice. And that accepting that there is choice is the only way to find yourself and a full life.  It is brilliant and a great read. In my humble opinion, it is Steinbeck at his best.

2. The S.J. Bolton love affair: Bolton’s first three suspense novels are just fun.  “Sacrifice,” “Awakening” and “Blood Harvest” are all completely different stories but each one has a strong heroine that ends up in disturbing circumstances just because of their profession.   They are great for fast reads – for full disclosure, I was reading part of “Blood Harvest” in the middle of the night and it truly scared me to death. Those Brits have some spooky stuff going on.

3. “The English Patient” by Michael Ondaatje:  This book was not at all what I expected. I did see the movie years ago and always meant to read the book.  I remember, though it has been awhile, the movie being more of a love story and while that is a part of it, the book is more about the changing of four lives during and after WWII.  The four lives become intertwined in a bombed out villa in Italy.   Ondaatje’s descriptions are beautiful.  I am not sure I completely understood the depth of the story – it is one I am still thinking about.

4.  “The Husband’s Secret” by Liane Moriarity: This book is the best kind of summer read.  Cecilia is a great mom, has a wonderful husband, and just seems to have a well-rounded, beautiful life.  While her husband is out of town, she accidentally comes across a letter hidden away.  It is to her from her husband in the event he dies.  Cecilia doesn’t read it but mentions it to her husband on the phone.  He begs her not to read it and rushes home to make sure the letter is destroyed.  Of course then she reads it, wouldn’t you?  I liked this book because the letter does not contain what you expect and it took some fun/interesting turns.  It would pair well with a nice patio chair and a glass of wine.

5. “The Orphan Master’s Son” by Adam Johnson: It is not surprising that this book won the Pulitzer.  I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I think I just needed to read it.  It follows the life of Pak Jun Do who begins his life in North Korea in an orphanage.  His life is surreal but unfortunately life in North Korea is surreal.  The story is sad and unbelievable and  based in part on Johnson’s investigation into North Korea.  While I was reading this novel, North Korea was cited by the UN for Human Rights violations and it began an investigation into these violations, making this novel all the more poignant.

6. “Morning Glory” by Sarah Joi: This book was terrible. I have come to know Joi as a fluff writer that I read when I need a pretty little love story.  So I do not expect Pulitzer writing but this book just got silly.  I will forgive Joi this one transgression and hope it was just a one off.  Skip it, find another light read for your Sunday morning coffee.

And that my fellow readers is my Spring Book rehash. I hope the rest of your Spring is filled with sunshine and a lot of wonderful books.

1606990_10151818560516367_1008350770_n

 

* The first beautiful photo courtesy of In a Flash photography.

 

Entry filed under: May 2014 reads. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The Saddest Story – “The Good Soldier” by Ford Madox Ford The Southern White ladies have some baggage that they need the help to carry- “The Dry Grass of August” by Anna Jean Mayhew

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Claire 'Word by Word'  |  May 25, 2014 at 12:37 pm

    Must read another Steinbeck soon, love his work and have only read two very short works so far, the best still to come I am sure.

    Reply
    • 2. Emily C  |  May 26, 2014 at 4:25 pm

      I didn’t love “Grapes of Wrath” but “East of Eden” was wonderful. It is a lot but well worth it!

      Reply

Please let me know what you think! I like hearing from you.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

There is some great literature out there, but there is a lot of bad literature as well. We shouldn't all have to read it. These are my recommendations and thoughts about the books I read.

Archives

Or enter you email address here to get email updates.

Join 671 other followers

What I’m reading now –


